Has AnyBody Tried The Linux Ubuntu OS?

So, I got this new laptop from a friend of mine at school for only $100 today. Its only a year old and its pretty freaking sweet.

Since, I am majoring in computers and networking at school I was able to score this laptop at a steal. It previously had Win7 but due to a virus caused by Limewire from the previous owner, it was left with a wiped out hard drive.

I was working on this pc for my friend and told her I could reinstall the OS if she had the legit instillation CD. Well, she didn’t have and didn’t want the laptop back because she would have had to pay $120+ for a new OS.

So I got the laptop and installed a Linux based OS called Ubuntu. Boy, oh boy this puppy is freaking slick!

It’s a free OS system by the way but it works a lot faster and smoother than Windows anyday! It’s built on the same platform as a MAC OS which is Linux so it’s very similar to a MAC in features.

I figured this laptop will be great for chilling out on the couch and just spending the day networking with artists and sending emails and other more productive things.

This will make it more productive for me because I can get out of the studio and wont be distracted by my keyboard and DAW.

If you all get a chance you can take a tour of the Operating System via the web through the link below… the tour lacks some of the cool features the actual installed OS has but you can get the idea…
http://www.ubuntu.com/tour/en/

Let me know what you think. :slight_smile:

Good find!

I’ve only used Linux a little bit but I’ve seriously considered using Ubuntu as a file server platform. I’ve had friends since highschool that have raved about a couple different free Linux platforms but never tried it myself.

Well for me it was a score. I got a year old laptop with 320gb, 4gb of ram expandable to 8gb, a built in webcam and microphone, dual core processor w/ 2.3 ghz power, all for just $100 along with a very minimal but productive FREE OS.